Skip navigation to content


Students have a number of academic choices to make throughout their studies. The most obvious is the degree programme to which they are initially admitted; this determines their Faculty (Arts, Divinity, Medicine or Science).

Each degree programme has a number of compulsory modules in each year of study. In all Faculties other than Medicine, students must also choose optional modules.

In some circumstances, students can change their mind about the modules they are taking, or even switch to a different degree programme.