Skip navigation to content


Re-assessment (sometimes also called resitting) provides an opportunity to repeat assessment of a module, if the original grade is 4 or higher, but below the pass threshold of 7. The details are specified in the course catalogue. Re-assessment is not usually available for modules assessed solely by coursework.

At Honours and Masters levels, grades awarded at re-assessment are capped at 7.

If you fail a module at re-assessment, you are not eligible for any further re-assessment, though it may be possible to take the module again.

Social media

Find us on:

Facebook logoFacebook

Twitter logoTwitter


Registry - Undergraduate

Walter Bower House
Eden Campus, Main Street

St Andrews
KY16 0US
Scotland, United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)1334 46 4089/4219

Dr Stephen Tyre, Associate Dean Students (Arts and Divinity)


Dr Graham Kirby, Associate Dean Students (Science)


Related links