Coronavirus information and guidance

University Court

The University Court is the governing body of the University. The Court has overall responsibility for the governance of the University, including all aspects of strategic planning and the management of resources — financial, human and physical. This responsibility comes via Acts of Parliament, which give the Court authority over all of the University’s property and revenues, as well as the power to review the decisions of the Senate.

The University Court meets in St Andrews on a quarterly basis. Minutes from Court meetings are publicly available after each meeting. The Universities (Scotland) Acts, 1858-1966, and ordinances and resolutions made in accordance with these acts, regulate the present constitution and government of the University, and are outlined in the ordinances and resolutions section.

University Annual Public meeting

The University Annual Public meeting took place on 24 April 2021. This event is an integral component of the University’s commitment to Social Responsibility as outlined in the University Strategy 2018 to 2023, and is designed to enable our key stakeholders, partners and neighbours to learn more about our current activities and ambitions.

Updates on University business were provided by the Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sally Mapstone FRSE; the Senior Lay Member of the University Court, Catherine Stihler OBE; and the President of the Students’ Association, Dan Marshall.
Short opening remarks addressed the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic on the University, and the continuing delivery of the University Strategy.

A question and answer session followed, moderated by Stephen Gethins, Professor of Practice in the School of International Relations.

A recording of the event can be viewed on YouTube.

Promulgation of Draft Resolution

The University Court at its meeting on 11 June promulgated Draft Resolution 2021 No.1 - Degree of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) (PDF) .

Appointment of Non-executive Members of Court

The University Court at its meeting on 11 June approved the appointment of Ms Alison Johns and Professor Anu Ojha OBE, as Non-executive members of the University Court. Ms Johns and Professor Ojha will take up appointment on 1 August 2021 and will replace Ken Dalton and Professor Sir David Wallace who demit office on 31 July 2021.

The University Court has a number of standing committees:

  • audit and risk committee (including academic, University ethics and health and safety assurance groups)
  • governance and nominations committee
  • planning and resources committee (including the investment and treasury assurance group)
  • remuneration committee
  • superannuation and life assurance scheme.