Semester dates 2018-2019

St Andrews has two semesters each year: Martinmas semester from September to December and Candlemas semester from February to May. 

Downloads

Semester 1: Martinmas semester

Monday 17 September to Friday 21 December 2018

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Pre-sessional Monday 10 September 2018 Orientation week
Week 1 Monday 17 September 2018 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 24 September 2018  
Week 3 Monday 1 October 2018  
Week 4 Monday 8 October 2018  
Week 5 Monday 15 October 2018  
Week 6 Monday 22 October 2018 Independent Learning Week (ILW)
Raisin Monday: 22 October
Week 7 Monday 29 October 2018  
Week 8 Monday 5 November 2018  
Week 9 Monday 12 November 2018  
Week 10 Monday 19 November 2018  
Week 11 Monday 26 November 2018

 

Week 12 Monday 3 December 2018 Revision week
Graduation: Thursday 6 and Friday 7 December
Week 13 Monday 10 December 2018 Semester 1 examinations
Week 14 Monday 17 December 2018 Semester 1 examinations

Christmas vacation and inter-semester break

Monday 24 December 2018 to Friday 25 January 2019

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Christmas vacation Monday 24 December 2018  
Christmas vacation Monday 31 December 2018  
Inter-semester Monday 7 January 2019  
Inter-semester Monday 14 January 2019  
Inter-semester Monday 21 January 2019  

Semester 2: Candlemas semester

Monday 28 January to Friday 31 May 2019

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Week 1 Monday 28 January 2019 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 4 February 2019  
Week 3 Monday 11 February 2019  
Week 4 Monday 18 February 2019  
Week 5 Monday 25 February 2019  
Week 6 Monday 4 March 2019  
Week 7 Monday 11 March 2019  
Vacation Monday 18 March 2019 Spring vacation
Vacation Monday 25 March 2019 Spring vacation
Week 8 Monday 1 April 2019  
Week 9 Monday 8 April 2019  
Week 10 Monday 15 April 2019  
Week 11 Monday 22 April 2019  
Week 12 Monday 29 April 2019 Revision week
Week 13 Monday 6 May 2019 Revision week
May Day holiday: Monday 6 May
Week 14 Monday 13 May 2019 May examinations
Week 15 Monday 20 May 2019 May examinations
Week 16 Monday 27 May 2019  

Summer

Monday 3 June to Friday 6 September 2019

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Summer week 1 Monday 3 June 2019  
Summer week 2 Monday 10 June 2019  
Summer week 3 Monday 17 June 2019  
Graduation week Monday 24 June 2019 Graduation ceremonies