Semester dates 2016-2017

St Andrews has two semesters each year: Martinmas semester from September to December and Candlemas semester from February to May.

Downloads

Semester 1: Martinmas semester

Monday 12 September to Friday 16 December 2016

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Pre-sessional Monday 5 September 2016 Orientation week
Week 1 Monday 12 September 2016 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 19 September 2016  
Week 3 Monday 26 September 2016  
Week 4 Monday 3 October 2016  
Week 5 Monday 10 October 2016  
Week 6 Monday 17 October 2016 Independent Learning Week (ILW)
Raisin Monday: 17 October
Week 7 Monday 24 October 2016  
Week 8 Monday 31 October 2016  
Week 9 Monday 7 November 2016  
Week 10 Monday 14 November 2016  
Week 11 Monday 21 November 2016  
Week 12 Monday 28 November 2016 Revision week
Graduation: Wednesday 30 November and Thursday 1 December
Week 13 Monday 5 December 2016 Semester 1 examinations
Week 14 Monday 12 December 2016 Semester 1 examinations

Christmas vacation and inter-semester break

Monday 19 December 2016 to Friday 20 January 2017

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Christmas vacation Monday 19 December 2016  
Christmas vacation Monday 26 December 2016  
Inter-semester Monday 2 January 2017  
Inter-semester Monday 9 January 2017  
Inter-semester Monday 16 January 2017 Module results reporting deadline: Monday 16 January 2017, 1pm

Semester 2: Candlemas semester

Monday 23 January to Friday 26 May 2017

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Week 1 Monday 23 January 2017 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 30 January 2017  
Week 3 Monday 6 February 2017  
Week 4 Monday 13 February 2017  
Week 5 Monday 20 February 2017  
Week 6 Monday 27 February 2017  
Week 7 Monday 6 March 2017  
Vacation Monday 13 March 2017 Spring vacation
Vacation Monday 20 March 2017 Spring vacation
Week 8 Monday 27 March 2017  
Week 9 Monday 3 April 2017  
Week 10 Monday 10 April 2017  
Week 11 Monday 17 April 2017  
Week 12 Monday 24 April 2017 Revision week 
Week 13 Monday 1 May 2017 Revision week
May Day Holiday: Monday 1 May
Week 14 Monday 8 May 2017 May examinations
Week 15 Monday 15 May 2017 May examinations
Week 16 Monday 22 May 2017 Module results reporting

Summer

Monday 29 May to Friday 8 September 2017

WeekWeek beginningEvents
Summer week 1 Monday 29 May 2017 Module results reporting deadline: Friday 2 June 2017, 1pm
Summer week 2 Monday 5 June 2017 Module results published (Tuesday 6 June 2017)
Summer week 3 Monday 12 June 2017  
Graduation week Monday 19 June 2017 Graduation ceremonies