Meet the academic, teaching, and professional services staff within the School of Classics.

If you would like to contact the School, please see the contact page for details.

Dr Olaf Almqvist

Lecturer in Greek & Classical Studies

Dr Andrea L. Brock

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Dr Jon Hesk


Homeric epic; Greek tragedy and comedy; Thucydides; Athenian oratory and Greek rhetorical theory; ancient democracy and its modern legacy; the application of political science and psychology to the texts and culture of Athenian democracy; the influence of ancient drama on contemporary British theatre.

Dr Alice König

Senior Lecturer

Latin literature, Roman Empire, Nerva/Trajan/Hadrian, intertextuality, literary interactions, cross-cultural interactions, technical writing, history of science, battle narratives, visualising war.

Prof Jason König


Greek literature and culture of the Roman empire; late Hellenistic, early Christian and late antique literature; place, landscape and environment in ancient and modern culture; ancient encyclopaedic, scientific and miscellanistic writing; the literature and culture of the symposium; ancient athletics.

Dr Myles Lavan

Deputy Head of School

Director of Impact

Director of Research


Political, social and cultural history of the Roman empire; imperialism; slavery; citizenship; quantitative methods

Dr Carlos Machado

Senior Lecturer

Rome and Italy; late antiquity; cities and civic life; latin epigraphy; urban space.

Dr Alexandra Madela

Associate Lecturer in Greek & Classical Studies

Prof Roger Rees

Head of the School of Classics



Mr Kristian Kanstrup Christensen


Dr Manlio Fossati

Dr Nikoletta Manioti

Visiting Scholar

Sisters; Epic; Roman women; Myth; Representation of space in literature


Dr Colin McLaren