Reporting

The business transformation board (BTB) are responsible for monitoring initiatives regularly to ensure on-going progress and continued business justification, via the business transformation lifecycle (BTL). The business transformation portfolio (BTP) operates on a four-weekly reporting cycle.

Unless special dispensation has been agreed by BTB, the initiative's programme or project manager is required to use the business transformation templates when submitting stage gate reports (at appropriate points in the initiative's lifecycle) and four-weekly status reports. The initiative's manager is also responsible for reporting escalations where they expect to exceed any stage or initiative-level tolerances for matters such as:

  • budget variations
  • alterations to schedules
  • deviations from agreed quality
  • changes to scope
  • risks and issues
  • changes to benefits forecast.

The initiative's manager is responsible for reporting on benefits realised prior to the closure of the initiative. Following the closure of the initiative, the responsibility for benefits realisation and review will transfer to an appropriate operational member of staff, as agreed in the initiative end report.

All stage gate submissions, status and escalation reports (excluding business transformation proposals and benefit reviews, which are submitted to BTPO via email) must be stored within the appropriate folder on the BTP shared drive, on or before the key dates for submission, in order to be considered.

For stage gate submissions and escalation reports only, the programme or project manager must also email the business transformation helpdesk to advise which type of reports are ready for the BTB to review, on or before the key dates for submission, in order to be considered.

If any of the above reporting requirements are not met, then the submission may be rolled over to the next four-weekly cycle. Late status reports may be reported as non-submissions. Please contact the business transformation helpdesk if you have a query regarding reporting requirements.

Following the board meeting, sponsors and programme or project managers should view BTB investment and monitoring decisions within the respective initiative record on the P3 register.

Find out more about key dates for submission or how to submit a business transformation proposal.

For access to business tranformation templates, please contact the business tranformation helpdesk.

Keys dates for submission

Below are the BTP reporting submission and BTB meeting dates. Find more about BTB responsibilities and membership.

Period Period datesReport submission date BTB meeting date
45 Mon 29 Apr - Sun 26 May 2019 Mon 27 May 2019 10-12pm Wed 05 Jun 2019
46 Mon 27 May - Sun 23 Jun 2019 Mon 24 Jun 2019 2-4pm Wed 03 Jul 2019
47 Mon 24 Jun - Sun 21 Jul 2019 Mon 22 Jul 2019 11-1pm Wed 31 Jul 2019
48 Mon 22 Jul - Sun 18 Aug 2019 Mon 19 Aug 2019 11-1pm Wed 28 Aug 2019
49 Mon 19 Aug - Sun 15 Sep 2019 Mon 16 Sep 2019 11-1pm Wed 25 Sep 2019
50 Mon 16 Sep - Sun 13 Oct 2019 Mon 14 Oct 2019 11-1pm Wed 23 Oct 2019
51 Mon 14 Oct - Sun 10 Nov 2019 Mon 11 Nov 2019 11-1pm Wed 20 Nov 2019
52 Mon 11 Nov - Sun 08 Dec 2019 Mon 09 Dec 2019 11-1pm Wed 18 Dec 2019