Skip navigation to content

Staff Immigration

Guidance on Immigration and Sponsoring non-EEA Migrants

The UKVI Points-Based System regulates and determines non-EEA migrants’ right to enter and work in the UK.  Migrants will need to pass a points-based assessment before they are given permission to enter or remain in the United Kingdom. 


There are five ‘tiers’, and several sub-categories within each tier, in the Points-Based System.   The five tiers in the Points-Based System are:

Human Resources hold a sponsorship licence from the UKVI for Tier 2 and Tier 5 migrants.


 Further information

About us

As part of the immigration service for employees, managers and prospective employees, Human Resources conduct amongst others, the following:

  • Applying and assigning Tier 2 Certificates of Sponsorship
  • Advising on Tier 2 visa application process
  • Checking visa applications before submission
  • Assigning Tier 5 (Government Authorised Exchange) Certificates of Sponsorship
  • Supporting application for Indefinite Leave to Remain (Settlement)
  • Advising on all immigration categories/scenarios

Please be aware that the information on this website is for guidance purposes only and does not intend to be a full representation of the immigration rules.  However, if you require any practical advice on immigration matters please contact Human Resources or visit the UKVI website.


Please note that HR will try and assist where possible if difficulties are experienced in obtaining entry clearance/leave to remain but the main responsibility submitting the application in line with the visa rules rests with the migrant.  The University has no power to influence UKVI decisions.