Meet the academic, teaching, and professional services staff within the School of English.

Please see the contact page for details on how to contact the School.  Students wishing to arrange a meeting with a member of staff, should consult the office hours page.

Dr Harriet Archer

Lecturer in Early Modern Literature

Dr Martha Baldon

Associate Lecturer in Late Medieval English Literature

Dr Lorna Burns

Senior Lecturer in Postcolonial Literatures

Prof Margaret Connolly

Professor of Palaeography and Codicology

Dr Alex Davis

Deputy Head of School

Senior Lecturer

Dr Caitlin Flynn

Associate Lecturer Late Medieval English Literature

Dr Katie Garner

Director of Teaching

Senior Lecturer

Dr Sam Haddow

Lecturer in Modern & Contemporary Drama

Prof Zinnie Harris

Professor of Playwriting and Screenwriting

Prof Ian Johnson

Head of School

Professor of Medieval Literature

Dr Sara Lodge

Director of Research

Senior Lecturer

Mrs Jillian Mannion

Lecturer in Screenwriting/Playwriting

Dr Giulio Pertile

Lecturer in Early Modern Literature

Prof Rhiannon Purdie

Professor of English and Older Scots

Ms Karen Solie

Lecturer in Creative Writing: Poetry

Dr Gregory Tate

Senior Lecturer in Victorian Literature

Dr Kristen Treen

Lecturer in American Literature

Dr Kiron Ward

Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Prof Robert Crawford

Prof Robert Crawford

Emeritus Professor

Mr Phillip Mallett

Honorary Senior Lecturer


Prof Alastair Minnis

Honorary Professor


Prof Paul Muldoon

Honorary Professor

Dr Philip Parry

Honorary Senior Lecturer


Prof Jeremy Smith

Honorary Professor

Mr Alex Bain

Mr Alex Bain

School Manager

Dr Lannie Birch

Production Editor (Forum for Modern Language Studies)

Mrs Wendy Boyter

Mrs Wendy Boyter

Teaching Administrator

Mrs Laura Cameron-Mackintosh

Mrs Laura Cameron-Mackintosh

Research Administrator


Mr Lachlan Harrison

Digital Support Modern Apprentice


Dr Francesco Manzini

General Editor (Articles and Publisher Liaison)

Ms Amy Sansom

Ms Amy Sansom

Computing Officer


Miss Kimberley Smith

School Administrator


Ms Alexandra Wallace

Postgraduate Administrator