Coronavirus information and guidance

Creative writing

The Creative Writing research group works with students on developing their prose or poetry skills. The group, which includes John Burnside, Oliver Emanuel, Zinnie Harris, Oli Hazzard and Don Paterson has produced a range of widely-reviewed and prizewinning work, not only in the UK, but also through Europe, the United States and the Far-East.

Creative writers' books

Research interests

Research interests relating to the Creative Writing research group include:

  • poetry and poetry in translation
  • the short story
  • the novel
  • life writing
  • the literary essay
  • travel writing
  • drama

Publications, prizes and honours

Among the publications to which members of the group have contributed are The New Yorker, The Guardian, The Times, Libération, Harper's Magazine and The Paris Review, among many others.

Prizes won by members of the group include the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Forward Prize, the Whitbread Prize for Poetry, Le Prix Madeleine Zepter (France), the Commonwealth First Book Prize and many others.

Honours include an OBE and the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry - both awarded to Don Paterson.