Mathematicians Recognised in the New Year Honours List

15 January 2024

In the King’s New Year Honours List 2024, Colva Roney-Dougal, Professor of Pure Mathematics, received an OBE for Services to Education and Mathematics. Colva specialises in group theory and computational algebra and is Director of the Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Computational Algebra (CIRCA) at St Andrews. She is also known for popularising mathematics on BBC radio programmes, including In Our Time, The Infinite Monkey Cage and Fry’s English Delight.

Kenneth Falconer, Regius Professor of Mathematics, received a CBE for Services to Mathematics. Kenneth is a world-expert in Fractal Geometry, a subject on which he has written five books, including Fractal Geometry – Mathematical Foundations and Applications, which has become the seminal text in the field, and the accessible Fractals – A Very Short Introduction. In 2020 he was awarded the London Mathematical Society Shephard Prize.