About the St Andrews Prize

The St Andrews Prize for the Environment is a major international initiative led by the University of St Andrews that recognises and supports innovative and inspirational responses to environmental challenges, including the climate crisis. It is overseen by the Master of the United College, Professor Ineke De Moortel FRAS FRSE.

Since 1998, the Prize has awarded more than US$2.5 million in prize money across the world to individuals and organisations whose imaginative solutions are protecting the environment and promoting a more sustainable society.

Now in its 26th year, the Prize aims to champion the people and ideas addressing the greatest challenge of our age.


Child using a water fountain

History of the Prize

The St Andrews Prize for the Environment was established in 1998 by the University of St Andrews to recognise significant contributions to environmental conservation. Originally awarded in conjunction with ConocoPhillips, in 2020, the University assumed full responsibility for the Prize.

Since its launch, the Prize has attracted over 6,000 entries which cover everything from reducing human-animal conflict, to environmental justice, to reducing and eliminating waste, to urban regeneration.

There have been 25 winners and 60 runners-up, who have all received a cash prize to further develop and implement their projects.


The University of St Andrews stands for research and teaching of the highest quality and the pursuit of knowledge for the common good. The University aims to be a beacon for diversity and social responsibility. These values are articulated in its strategy, which expresses ambitions across five distinct but equally important themes: World-leading, Diverse, Digital, Sustainable, and Entrepreneurial. All entries must be consistent with the values of the University.


The judging panel is chaired by Professor Sir Ian Boyd FRS FRSE PRSB and includes the Master of the United College and external representatives with expertise in conservation, economics, and environmental science. The judges are supported by a Screening Committee comprising University of St Andrews academic and professional staff and PhD students.

Professor Sir Ian Boyd FRS FRSE PRSB
Chair of the St Andrews Prize for the Environment Judges, Bishop Wardlaw Professor of Biology at the University of St Andrews, and President of the Royal Society of Biology

Dr Jesse Ausubel
Director of the Program for the Human Environment and Senior Research Associate at the Rockefeller University    

Professor Ineke De Moortel FRAS FRSE
Master of the United College and Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of St Andrews

Dr Axel Moehrenschlager
Chair of the IUCN SSC Conservation Translocation Specialist Group

Professor Camilla Toulmin FRSE
Senior Associate, Climate Change, International Institute for Environment and Development, and Professor in Practice, Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University

Former winners

Find out more about our innovative and inspiring former winners and how they are protecting the environment and encouraging a more sustainable society.