Chemistry Graduation and Prizes 2019

28 June 2019

A total of 62 students graduated with an Honours degree in chemistry from St Andrews in 2019 as well as 31 with a PhD. After the University graduation ceremony in Younger Hall, this was celebrated with a reception in the School of Chemistry, where the best students (and teachers!) were awarded prizes for outstanding achievements. The prizes were presented by Prof. Lesley Yellowlees CBE (University of Edinburgh) who was awarded an Honorary DSc Degree.

In pictures:

Simone Gallarati, Lydia Barber, Saphia Matthew, Rosie Rothwell and Anna Tarcza (joint winners of the Gray Prize for the best essay on a prescribed topic in chemistry)


Saphia Matthew (GSK Prize for the best honours research project in organic chemistry)

Ross Taylor (Astra-Zeneca Prize for the best honours research project in biological chemistry)

Simone Gallarati (Charles Horrex Prize for the best honours research project in physical chemistry)

Anna Tarcza (Drochaid Prize for the best honours research project in inorganic chemistry) presented by Prof. Bob Tooze (Drochaid)

Sophie Jamieson (OUP Book Prize for the best student in the 4th year BSc chemistry class)

Simone Gallarati and Saphia Matthew (joint winners of the Forrester Prize for the best graduating students in the 4th and 5th year classes and also the Irvine Jubilee Prize and Medal for the most distinguished graduating MChem student)

Tom Francis and Anna Cavalleri (joint winners of the Head of School Award for extracurricular and outreach activities) with Head of School Prof. Russell Morris.

Dr Alan Aitken and Prof Terry Smith (Special Award for outstanding service following the fire in the School in February 2019)

Not pictured are Siyao Chen (Medal in Biomolecular Science) and Dr Iain Smellie (best teacher as nominated by the honours classes).