Postgraduate taught Masters classification

The taught postgraduate (PGT) classification algorithm uses the St Andrews grade point average (GPA) to determine a final degree classification. The St Andrews GPA is the credit-weighted mean of all grades, including the taught component and the dissertation.  

Only one decimal point is used in all calculations.

Classification outcomes

St Andrews GPAClassification outcome
16.5 or more Distinction
13.5 or more Merit
7.0 or more Pass
6.9 or less Fail

If the classification policy for a collaborative programme differs from the above, the School must make this clear to students at the start of their programme and in their programme handbooks.