A History of Philosophy at the University of St Andrews

Edgecliffe - The Departments of Moral
Philosophy and Logic and Metaphysics
In this brief history, we are not pretending to present a scholarly history of philosophy as it has developed and been practised at St Andrews, but to give an entertaining, and informative, account of some of the philosophers who have influenced philosophy here and elsewhere.

The Early History (1410-1747)

The Chairs of Moral Philosophy (1747-1983)

The Chairs of Logic and Metaphysics (1747-1977)

Compiled by Fiona Macpherson and Stephen Read, 2002
Comments and suggestions: slr@st-and.ac.uk