A Listing of Shakespeare Plays Published 1594-1623

Click on a play title to see what editions were published between 1594 and 1623

Note: texts traditionally characterised as 'bad' quartos are indicated here as 'V' for variant; those traditionally characterised as 'good' are indicated as 'NV' (non-variant). All quartos, regardless of whether they are variant or nonvariant are numbered sequentially (Q1, Q2, Q3, etc). In addition, where a variant text exists, variant and non-variant editions are also numbered as separate series (NV1, NV2, NV3 and V1, V2, V3, etc).

Any play not included in this listing was not published as a separate edition prior to 1623.

Edward III Merry Wives of Windsor
Hamlet Midsummer Night's Dream
1 Henry IV Much Ado About Nothing
2 Henry IV Othello
Henry V Pericles
2 Henry VI Richard II
3 Henry VI Richard III
King John Romeo and Juliet
King Lear Taming of the Shrew
Love's Labours Lost Titus Andronicus
Merchant of Venice Troilus and Cressida
Apocryphal Plays
Locrine 1 Sir John Oldcastle
The London Prodigal Thomas Lord Cromwell
The Puritan Yorkshire Tragedy

Back to EN3025 main page