When you apply for an undergraduate degree at the University of St Andrews, you will apply to a specific degree programme. However, your admission will be to one of the University's four Faculties, each led by a Dean:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Divinity
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Science.

The University's Schools and Departments all belong to one of the four Faculties. Most of the subjects you study during your time at the University will be offered by the Schools within your own Faculty, so you should choose to undertake a degree from a Faculty whose offered academic subjects interest you most. 

Some subjects are offered in both the Faculties of Arts and Science. These cross-faculty subjects are:

  • Economics and Financial Economics
  • Geography
  • Management
  • Mathematics
  • Psychology
  • Statistics
  • Sustainable Development.

Where a subject is available as both a Bachelor of Science (BSc) and a Master of Arts (MA) degree, the content of the subject is the same irrespective of Faculty.

Though you will likely belong to the same Faculty throughout your career at the University, many students take modules offered by several Schools. Only students within the Faculty of Medicine can take Medicine modules.