Skip navigation to content


The level of a module indicates its academic difficulty and the amount of assumed background learning.

Particular levels are sometimes referred to as levels 1 to 5, or as 1000 to 5000 level. The level of a module is indicated by the first digit of the numerical part of its code. Level 1 corresponds to SCQF level 7, level 2 to SCQF level 8, and so on.

You will usually take mostly level 1 modules in your first year of study, level 2 modules in your second year, and so on, but this is not a strict rule. Many students take some level 1 credits in their second year, and if necessary you are allowed (subject to any visa restrictions) to take three years of study to complete the requirements (at level 1 and level 2) for Honours entry.

Social media

Find us on:

Facebook logoFacebook

Twitter logoTwitter


Registry - Undergraduate

Walter Bower House
Eden Campus, Main Street

St Andrews
KY16 0US
Scotland, United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)1334 46 4089/4219

Dr Stephen Tyre, Associate Dean Students (Arts and Divinity)


Prof Graham Kirby, Associate Dean Students (Science)


Related links