Skip navigation to content

Honours degree

Honours degrees are offered in all faculties. These are undergraduate programmes, comprising a sub-honours part followed by an Honours part. The durations given below are for full-time study, with correspondingly longer being available for other modes of study.

Faculty of Arts:

  • MA (Hons) – 4 years
  • BA (Int Hons) - 4 years

Faculty of Divinity:

  • MA (Hons) – 4 years
  • MTheol (Hons) – 4 years
  • BD (Hons) – 4 years

Faculty of Medicine:

  • BSc (Hons) - 3 years with direct entry to second year

Faculty of Science:

  • BSc (Hons) – 4 years
  • MBiochem (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MBiol (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MChem (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MGeol (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MMarBiol (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MMath (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MPhys (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)
  • MSci (Hons) – 5 years (integrated masters)

Note that all of the programmes listed here are undergraduate degrees. In particular, MA is not a postgraduate degree. In common with some of the other Scottish universities, this undergraduate award is offered in Arts and Divinity for historical reasons.

Some BD, BSc and Integrated Masters programmes offer direct entry into second year to suitably qualified applicants, allowing them to complete the degree in one year less.

Honours degrees involve study at 1000, 2000, 3000 and 4000 level (and at 5000 level for Integrated Masters).

See also: rules relating to Honours degrees.

Social media

Find us on:

Facebook logoFacebook

Twitter logoTwitter


Registry - Undergraduate

Walter Bower House
Eden Campus, Main Street

St Andrews
KY16 0US
Scotland, United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)1334 46 4089/4219

Dr Stephen Tyre, Associate Dean Students (Arts and Divinity)


Prof Graham Kirby, Associate Dean Students (Science)


Related links