Skip navigation to content

Research and Teaching Staff Forum


The Research and Teaching Staff Forum was established in October 2012 from the previous Research Staff Forum (which was for research-only staff) by inviting representatives from the University’s Teaching Fellow cohort to join.

Remit of the Research and Teaching Staff Forum

  • Explore key local, national and international issues relating to research and teaching staff
  • Encourage discussion of such issues to take place among key University staff
  • Influence St Andrews policy and practice and help to improve the research and teaching experience at St Andrews
  •  Allow networking among researchers and education focused staff from different areas of the University
  •  Engage proactively in the ongoing work to maintain and develop the HR Excellence and Athena Swan Awards
  •  Ensure career and skills development for research and teaching staff are given a high priority in the staff development agenda at St Andrews

The Forum meets twice a year, usually in November and March.

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday 6 March 2019 at 9.30 am in Parliament Hall. 



Role of Representative

Members are responsible for canvassing opinion amongst their colleagues in Schools and in their networks.  Any issues or concerns should be raised at the Forum or emailed to the appropriate person on the Forum if necessary.

Members are also responsible for communicating information on the discussions and recommendations of the Forum to their colleagues.

Research staff representatives are entitled to attend their School Councils.  Every School has access to CAPOD funding to support networking and professional development activities for research staff.

Education Focused representatives also have access to a fund through CAPOD to support networking and professional development activities for their Education Focused constituency.


The Forum is chaired by the Vice Principal (Research), Professor Derek Woollins.

A school can have a research-only representative and a Principal Investigator on the Forum if it has more than 3 research staff.

The Forum has 2 or 3 Education Focused representatives from the cohort of Education Focused employed across the University.  CAPOD is supporting the establishment of a Education Focused Network which will enable representatives to consult with their colleagues in other Schools.  A small budget is available from CAPOD to support this network. 

The full list of current members is available below

Research Staff

Schools Representatives 
School of Biology 
School of Chemistry
School of Computer Science
School of Geography & Sustainable Development               
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
School of History
School of Management
School of Mathematics & Statistics
School of Medicine
School of Modern Languages
School of Physics & Astronomy 
School of Philosophical, Anthropological and Film Studies
School of Psychology and Neuroscience


Schools without representatives :-

Art History, Classics, Economics and Finance, English, International Relations


Education Focused

The Education Focused representatives of the Forum are:

Dr Iain Smellie, School of Chemistry

Dr Jim Byatt, School of English

Dr Paul Egan, School of Economics and Finance

Dr Jane Illes, School of Medicine

Dr Charles Lovatt, School of Management

Dr Sharon Leahy, School of Geography and Sustainable Development

Dr William McCarthy, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr Julie Oswald, School of Biology

Dr Paula Miles, School of Psychology and Neuroscience