Skip navigation to content

News

Nevitt Sandford award 2017

Friday 11 August 2017

Steve Reicher Sanford awaard

Professor Stephen Reicher has received the Nevitt Sandord award from the International Society for Political Psychology.

Maggie Ellis

New communication technique helps people with dementia

Thursday 03 August 2017

Method could reduce social isolation

animal-culture-thumbnail

‘Animal culture’ reshapes ideas about evolution

Monday 24 July 2017

Adaptation led by cultural change may shape genetic evolution

Richard Byrne- thumbnail

Animal cognition expert honoured by the British Psychological Society

Monday 24 July 2017

Lifetime Achievement Award for Professor Richard Byrne

ape-survey-thumbnail

How “great” an ape are you?

Thursday 20 July 2017

Online test reveals if humans instinctively understand our closest relatives

hobaiter-chimps-hunting-thumbnail

Dramatic differences spotted in chimp communities

Friday 23 June 2017

Neighbours vary in hunting and rank

Chimps pass on knowledge to the next generation

Thursday 01 June 2017

Beauty and the beholder

Thursday 18 May 2017

Women in Science Festival 2017

Wednesday 08 March 2017

Older news

acorn-woodpeckers-thumbnail

Woody Woodpecker laughs in the face of politics

Wednesday 08 March 2017

New evidence suggests birds have mastered cooperative living

Artwork by LJCraftCo

Science Fiction Make Believe Essay Competition

Monday 06 March 2017

Winners of our annual Scottish-wide essay competition 2017

UN International Day of Women and Girls in Science

Monday 13 February 2017

In recognition of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, we describe some of the School’s outreach activities with school-aged children.

lizards-ladders-thumbnail

Lizards and Ladders

Monday 06 February 2017

First evidence of how early social environment affects lizard learning

The Politics of Hope: Donald Trump as an Entrepreneur of Identity

Monday 21 November 2016

The president-elect won the election by artfully shaping and responding to his supporters’ views

budongo-chimps-thumbnail

With a little help from my friends

Wednesday 02 November 2016

Family and friends reduce stress in wild chimpanzees

Apes can understand how others see the world thumb

Apes can understand how others see the world

Monday 10 October 2016

"Uniquely" human trait present in all apes