Skip navigation to content

Current Undergraduates

The teaching curriculum

In the following document the table presents the teaching in 1st through to 3rd year. The 3rd year courses provide most of the BPS accreditation (4th year project completes it) and hence we are required to maintain the material taught in these modules. Furthermore, the 3rd year timetable is also set: the joint degree students complete 6 or the 8 half-semester modules and the two methodology modules over the course of two years and this is only possible if the timetable stays the same from year to year.

General teaching for staff and students

First year

PS1001 Recommended text books:

  • Gomez, J.C. (2004). Apes, Monkeys, Children, and the Growth of Mind. Harvard.
  • Smith, J.R., & Haslam, S.A. (2017). Social Psychology: Revisiting the classic studies (2nd ed.).  Sage. (The first edition from 2012 can also be used).
  • Wilson, S., & MacLean, R. (2011). Research Methods and Data Analysis for Psychology.  McGraw Hill.

PS1002 Recommended text books:

  • Gazzaniga, M.S., Ivry, R.B., & Mangun, G.R. (2014). Cognitive Neuroscience: The biology of the mind (International 4th ed.). Norton.
  • Wilson, S., & MacLean, R. (2011). Research Methods and Data Analysis for Psychology.  McGraw Hill.

Second year

Sub-Honours advisers


SH Project Information

Ethics & Projects

Honours advisers

Here is a list of this year's teaching related meetings which student representatives are expected to attend.

Teaching Meetings (PDF, 45 KB)

 Student Representatives

School President Gianluca Giammei
1st Year (Arts) Nicole Thompson
1st Year (Science) Hannah Tucker
1st Year (Neuroscience) Mei Angwin
2nd Year (Arts) Claire Fenerty
2nd Year (Science) Arianna Dorschel
2nd Year (Neuroscience) Louise Colville
3rd Year (Single Honours) Silvia Ventura
Adwoah Troesemeyer
3rd Year (Joint Honours) Katherine Ellis
3rd Year (Neuroscience) Julia Marache
4th Year (Single Honours) Eden Goodman
Ruby Moores
4th Year (Joint Honours) Mikhail Menshikov
4th Year (Neuroscience) Ellina Knudsen
Evening Degree Magdalena Bokowksa
Psychology Society
Alice Borsatti
Neuroscience Society Gray Seiler
MAZE Magazine President Madeleine Thursfield

BPS student representatives