School of Physics & Astronomy

2017-18 Course co-ordinators etc


Physics 1A and 1B (PH1011, PH1012) Dr Peter Woitke (Semester 1)
Dr Peter Wahl (Semester 2)

Dr Irina Leonhardt (PH1501)
Dr Paul Cruickshank (PH1502)
Dr Antje Kohnle (PH1503)

Physics lab (PH1011, PH1012) Dr Cameron Rae
Astronomy 1 (AS1001, AS1101) Dr Aleks Sholz (AS1001)
Dr Anne-Marie Weijmans (AS1101)
Physical Universe (daytime) (AS1002) Dr Martin Dominik
Physical Universe (evening degree) (AS1901) Next expected to run 2018-19

Advisers of studies

Dr Graham Smith
Dr Natalia Korolkova and Dr Frieder Koenig
Prof Moira Jardine


Physics Dr Paul Cruickshank
Physics Deputy, and lab head Dr Cameron Rae
Astronomy Prof Andrew Cameron
Advisers of studies As level one above

Levels Three, Four, and Five

Level-three (JH) co-ordinator & adviser Prof Ian Bonnell
Level-four (SH) co-ordinator & adviser Dr Donatella Cassettari
Level-five (MPhys) coordinator & adviser Dr Charles Baily
Physics Labs Dr Cameron Rae
Computational Astrophysics Dr Peter Woitke
Observational Astrophysics Dr Claudia Cyganowski
Transferable Skills Dr Bruce Sinclair
Project Director Dr Phil King
Physics Projects Dr Phil King
Theoretical Physics Projects Dr Jonathan Keeling
Astrophysics Projects

Dr Claudia Cyganowski

Postgraduate Taught

Director of PGT studies Dr Anne-Marie Weijmans
MSc Astrophysics Prof Ian Bonnell
MSc Photonics & OED, EngD Taught Dr Bruce Sinclair


Head of School Prof Graham Turnbull
Director of Teaching Dr Bruce Sinclair
Deputy Director of Teaching (and Vice (Astro)) Prof Ian Bonnell
Vice Director of Teaching (Experimental Physics) Dr Donatella Cassettari
Vice Director of Teaching (Theoretical Physics) Dr Chris Hooley
Director of Postgraduate Studies Dr Jonathan Keeling
School Student President Alisa Danilenko - physicspresident@
Special needs co-ordinator Dr Bruce Sinclair
Study Abroad co-ordinator/adviser Dr Charles Baily
Safety officer Mr Derek Milroy
Examinations officer Prof Steve Lee
Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Donatella Cassettari
Library Representative Dr Charles Baily
Careers Centre link officer  

All subject to change

Last updated BDS August 2017