Philosophy at St Andrews

Current undergraduates

New undergraduates

New undergraduates should refer first to the Guide for new students 2017/18, the Philosophy Handbook for Undergraduates 2017/18 and the Philosophy Peer Prospectus 2017/18.

The University of St Andrews has historically been home to two departments for the study of philosophy, namely the Department of Moral Philosophy and the Department of Logic and Metaphysics. You'll see this historical fact reflected in the two separate entrances to Edgecliffe, the building on the Scores in which we are housed. Nowadays, these two nominal departments operate as one unit within the School of Philosophical, Anthropological, and Film Studies. That is, the two departments combine to offer one set of degree programmes, and you will often hear staff and students refer to the unit simply as 'the department'.

The Department has excellent facilities. A significant amount of your teaching will take place within Edgecliffe and this is where you will find the Departmental Office. Lucie Wight and Rhona Paterson are the Undergraduate Course Administrators and will be pleased to help you in person and welcome you to the Department.

Honours students


Before matriculating in September, you must confirm your academic programme for the whole year with the Honours Philosophy Adviser, Professor Sarah Broadie.  Changes of modules will be permitted only in the first week of each semester, —and the Adviser must be consulted again for each change. Any changes of modules, including withdrawals, are unauthorised and may be disregarded unless the Honours Adviser has been consulted about them first.

Honours Advising for Session 2017-18 will take place on Tuesday 12 September from 10.00 until 16.30 and Wednesday 13 September from 10.00 until 16.30 as follows:

Junior Honours:

Tues 12 September: students A – M 10.00 –12.30; students N - Z 14.00-16.30

Senior Honours:

Weds 13 September: students A – M 10.00 –12.30; students N - Z 14.00-16.30

Please refer to the  Guide to Advising in Honours Philosophy 2017-18.

Staff contact information 

Head of School Mark Harris

Deputy Head of School Katherine Hawley

Head of Department James Harris

Philosophy Director of Teaching Lisa Jones

Director of Research Katherine Hawley

Disability Coordinator Katie Allan

Examinations Officer Simon Prosser

Health & Safety Officer Katie Allan

Honours Adviser Sarah Broadie

Sub honours Coordinator Alex Douglas

Senior Administrator Katie Allan

Departmental Secretary/Undergraduate Course Administrator

Lucie Wight and Rhona Paterson ext. 2486, School Office, room G09 Edgecliffe Opening hours: 9.00 - 13.00 and 14.00 - 17.00.

Please contact the Departmental Secretary/Undergraduate Course Administrator for assistance in the absence of academic members of staff.

Timetables and modules