Skip navigation to content

News archive 2017

ian-boyd-thumbnail

St Andrews scientist awarded Polar Medal

Tuesday 21 February 2017

Former director of SMRU recognised for his research on the ecology of seals

art-religion-thumbnail

The Art of Religion

Friday 17 February 2017

Arts project teams researchers and composers with Sir James MacMillan

community-museums-thumbnail

Promoting museum participation in remote Scotland, Latin America and the Caribbean

Tuesday 14 February 2017

Value of community museums focus of major international study

rse-logo-thumbnail

RSE Honour for St Andrews Academics

Tuesday 14 February 2017

Two St Andrews academics join the Royal Society of Edinburgh

deepwater-horizon-thumbnail

Dolphin population will take 40 years to recover from Deepwater Horizon disaster

Monday 13 February 2017

New international study highlights ongoing damage to marine mammals

booker-mater-thumbnail

Hisham Matar discusses tale of dissidents and betrayal

Thursday 09 February 2017

Booker Prize nominated author delivers free public lecture

pride-parade-thumbnail

PRIDE of St Andrews

Wednesday 08 February 2017

Fife’s longest-running LGBT+ Pride Parade invites community involvement

oxygen-nature-thumbnail

Nitrogen Revolution: study breathes new life into 2.3 billion year old ‘Great Oxidation Event’

Tuesday 07 February 2017

Nitrogen captured in ancient rocks from South Africa provides fresh insights into the co-evolution of Earth and life

lizards-ladders-thumbnail

Lizards and Ladders

Monday 06 February 2017

First evidence of how early social environment affects lizard learning

The Liberal University and its Enemies thumb

The Liberal University and its Enemies

Friday 03 February 2017

Remembering the longest rectorial address ever delivered and revisiting its themes

tef-thumbnail

St Andrews and the UK Teaching Excellence Framework

Thursday 26 January 2017

University to take part in new national appraisal of teaching quality

bees-thumbnail

New research debunks honey bee pesticide study

Monday 23 January 2017

Agrochemical company’s findings “misleading”

exoplanets-thumbnail

Humanity through the lens of the Universe

Monday 23 January 2017

Multidisciplinary centre for exoplanet science to study what makes humanity ‘special’

swinney-thumbnail

Deputy First Minister’s commitment to diversity and equality in education

Thursday 19 January 2017

Address to education conference at University of St Andrews

music-centre-thumbnail

University to unveil plans for new music centre

Friday 13 January 2017

£8m building proposed in heart of town

arclight-thumbnail

Arclight – a medical revolution

Thursday 12 January 2017

Device could save the sight of millions

congo-carbon-thumbnail

New mapping reveals vast peatlands in the Congo Basin

Wednesday 11 January 2017

Area almost twice the size of Scotland

pottery-thumbnail

St Andrews excavations uncover valuable archaeology

Monday 09 January 2017

Pottery and flint tools reveal ancient trade

vaquita-porpoise-thumbnail

Around 60 remain of the world’s most threatened porpoise

Thursday 05 January 2017

Endangered species threatened by illegal fishing