The St Andrews Institute of Intellectual History

Everyone is welcome

All seminars take place at 5.
15 pm, Room 1.10, St Katharine’s Lodge, The Scores

Monday, 23 January - CHANGE OF TIME AND VENUE - New Seminar Room, 71 South Street, 12.15 pm
Istvan Hont Memorial Lecture 
Katrina Forrester (Queen Mary)
‘The Origins of Contemporary Liberal Theory Revisited’

Monday, 30 January - CHANGE OF VENUE ONLY- New Seminar Room, St John's House, 71 South Street
Sophie Smith (Oxford)
‘The Language of Political Science in Early Modern Europe’

Tuesday, 7 February
Tom Jones (St Andrews)
‘George Berkeley in Livorno: Missionary Anglicanism and Commerce'

Tuesday, 14 February
Peter Bowler (Queens Belfast)

‘Prophets of Progress? Predicting the Future of Science and Technology from H. G. Wells to Isaac Asimov.'

Tuesday, 21 February
Amanda Power (Oxford)

'The vita apostolica and the governance of the faithful: rethinking the Friars Minor'

Monday, 27 February [Joint Seminar with Medieval Studies] - CHANGE OF VENUE ONLY- New Seminar Room, St John's House, 71 South Street
Richard Sowerby (Edinburgh)
Experimenting with Imprisonments in Early Medieval Europe

Tuesday, 7 March
David D’Avray (UCL)
“How to do Intellectual History”

SPRING VAC

Tuesday, 28 March
Rory Cox (St Andrews)
'Just War Doctrine in Ancient Egypt’

Tuesday, 4 April
Phil Connell (Cambridge)
‘Wordsworth's "Sonnets Dedicated to Liberty" (1802-3) and the British Revolutionary Past’

Tuesday, 11 April
Caroline Humfress (St Andrews)
‘Natural law and casuistic reasoning in Roman jurisprudence’

Tuesday, 18 April
Sophie Page (UCL)
Cosmology and Ritual Magic in the Late Middle Ages

Tuesday, 25 April
Susan Manly (St Andrews)
‘Maria Edgeworth as political thinker: government, rebellion and punishment'

Tuesday, 2 May
James Burns Memorial Lecture
Isabelle Rivers (Queen Mary)

'Dissenting, Methodist, and Evangelical Literary Culture in England, 1720-1800’

Thursday 4 May - NOTE CHANGE OF TIME ONLY - 4.00 pm
Leo Catana (Copenhagen)
‘From Persona to Systema:  Heumann’s Rejection of the Biographical Model for Writing the History of Philosophy’

 

 

For further information please contact Dr Rory Cox (rwscc@st-andrews.ac.uk)

To listen to past lectures go to www.intellectualhistory.net/lectures






Papers will be followed by questions, wine and nibbles.


To listen to past lectures go to: http://www.intellectualhistory.net/lectures