Medieval History Postgraduate Seminar Series


The Postgraduate Mediæval History Seminar series is intended to provide a space for postgraduates at all stages (from MLitts to final year PhDs) to present ideas, discuss research issues, and get some practical experience before conferences, submissions, etc. Refreshments are provided, and after each session we adjourn to the speaker's choice of pub for a more informal discussion.

If you would like to present a paper, please contact either Sarah Gregory or Cameron Houston

Martinmas Semester 2019-20
 
All sessions on a Wednesday at 5.15pm in the New Seminar Room, unless otherwise indicated.

 

 

Wednesday 18 September (Week 1) – Welcome and Research Relay

Wednesday 25 September (Week 2) – Estrella Samba Campos, ‘Leg over Leg’: Social Norms and Conduct Praxis in the Kitāb al-adab of Ibn Abī Šayba (775-849)

Wednesday 2 October (Week 3) – Ethan Birney, The Strange Coincidences of the Abbots Daniel

Wednesday 9 October (Week 4) – Cameron Houston, Who is Lotharingian? Giselbert of Maastricht and Liège in the Annals of Flodoard of Reims

Wednesday 16 October (Week 5) – Hailey Ogle, Humiliating Saints: A Call for Wrath

Wednesday 23 October (Week 6) – Independent Learning Week: No Seminar

Wednesday 30 October (Week 7) – Ryan Barnett, Jus ex Bello in Gratian's Decretum

Wednesday 6 November (Week 8) – Joseph Ickowski, My Litel Suffisaunce: Humility and Authority in Medieval English Poetry

Wednesday 13 November (Week 9) – Laura Bernardazzi, Learning How to Fight

Wednesday 20 November (Week 10) – Dana Weaver, Anglo-Saxon Cultural Memory in Durham

Wednesday 27 November (Week 11) – Guy Fassler, What a Load of Rubbish: The Office  of the Fango and Urban Space in Fourteenth-Century Bologna