University of St Andrews



I specialize in interdisciplinary approaches towards energy issues, engaging with both natural and social scientists. I assess policy and activist viewpoints, as well as develop and promote new conceptual thinking such as energy justice. A range of external bodies including most notably the British AcademyCarnegie Trust, ESRCEPSRC, Royal Society of Edinburgh and UKERC has funded the development of my research agenda.


  • Director of the St. Andrews Sustainability Institute
  • Director of the Arctic Research Centre
  • Director of Impact and Knowledge Exchange
  • Director of the International Energy Justice Council
  • ESRC Peer Review College
  • Carnegie Research Assessor
  • Nuclear Consulting Group


Research Interests

I am involved in a wide range of energy-based academic and commercially funded research. I also retain a keen interest in complementary areas of research seeking to understand technology-society relationships (e.g. biofuels, biotechnology, micro-generation, third generation nuclear reactors). I list a small selection of recently PI and Co-I funded projects ranging from one to six years in project duration; 

  • Whole energy systems for a just transition, UKERC (EPSRC)
  • Connecting with a low carbon Scotland, RSE
  • Adaptation and resilience of the UK energy system to climate change, EPSRC
  • Discourses of energy justice in the United States and Europe, EPSRC
  • Exploring injustices in energy production and consumption in Scotland, Carnegie
  • Going Nuclear? Exploring the multi-level politics of including nuclear energy, ESRC



Teaching Interests

  • SD4112 Global Energy Politics
  • SD5299, SD5023 Sustainable Energy
  • SD5001, SD5003 Sustainable Development
  • GG5002, GG5003 Advanced Research Methods and Design
  • SD5028, SD4299 Sustainable Development and Geography Dissertations
  • SD4221 Review Essays

Postgraduate Students

  • Rebecca Grant (Energy justice in Kenya)
  • Iain Todd (Energy justice and solar in South Africa)
  • Caroline Damgaard (Urban energy systems)
  • Maria Pavlenko (Arctic energy)
  • Ryan Holmes (Arctic shipping)
  • Rika Hirose Haga (Nuclear and decommissioning)
  • Esther Lew (Climate change negotiations)
  • Ilinca Bajenaru (Urban governance)