University of St Andrews

Chair of Foraminiferal Group announced

Thursday 15 November 2012

Dr William Austin (Reader in Physical Geography) has recently been appointed as Chair of the Foraminiferal Group.

He was appointed as Chair of the Micropalaeontology Society's Foraminiferal Group, following the Society's Annual General Meeting at the British Geological Survey, Keyworth. Dr Kirsty Edgar, a NERC Research Fellow at the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Cardiff University, takes on the role of Foraminiferal Group secretary. Microfossils, and Foraminifera in particular, have an important role in biostratigraphy (the relative dating of the rock record based on recognized fossil assemblages, with significant utility in hydrocarbon exploration) and, as in Dr Austin's own research, the reconstruction of past climate change.