Skip navigation to content

Creative Writing

The Creative Writing research group works with students on developing their prose or poetry skills. The group, which includes John Burnside, Robert Crawford, Oliver Emanuel, Lesley Glaister, Zinnie Harris, Don Paterson, Emma Jones and Oli Hazzard has produced a range of widely-reviewed and prizewinning work, not only in the UK, but also through Europe, the United States and the Far-East.

Prizes won by members of the group include the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Forward Prize, the Whitbread Prize for Poetry, Le Prix Madeleine Zepter (France), the Commonwealth First Book Prize and many others.

Research interests include:

  • poetry and poetry in translation
  • the short story
  • the novel
  • life writing
  • the literary essay
  • travel writing
  • drama.

Among the publications to which members of the group have contributed are The New Yorker, The Guardian, The Times, Libération, Harper's Magazine and The Paris Review, among many others. Honours include an OBE and the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry, both awarded to Don Paterson.

For further information see the Creative Writing website


Professor John Burnside, Professor Robert Crawford, Oliver EmanuelLesley Glaister, Professor Zinnie Harris, Dr Oliver Hazzard, Dr Emma Jones, Professor Don Paterson


Lily Clarke, Patrick Errington, Tara Fietz, Helena Fornells Nadal, Rachel Hall, Sam Harvey, Tarn MacArthur, Marina Martino, Malou Micola von Furstenrecht, Kate Rhodes, Sean Robinson, Jenna Rogers, Gretta Ruttenberg, Stephen Sacco, Zein Sa'Dedin, Kenzie Saunders, Gabby Sher, Josephine Tomkins, Alexa Winik, Kevin Wood

Audio and Video

LGBTQ and women's rights activists debate - Zinnie Harris's Meet Me at Dawn (December 2016)

The title translates as "Writing Female Protagonists for the Stage" and the participants were (from left to right) Ebru Nihan Celkan (playwright, dramaturg and the founder of buluTiyatro), Ayşe Gül Altınay (Director of SU Gender Research Centre and Associate Professor of Anthropology at Sabancı University), Professor Zinnie Harris (University of St Andrews), Erdem Avsar (DOT Theatre, Istanbul).

Poets from the School of English reading their work

Don Paterson


John Burnside


Robert Crawford