Equality and Diversity

The School of Economics and Finance is committed to creating an inclusive environment that supports equality and diversity. We aim to achieve fair and equal representation for all, enabling all members of our staff and students to contribute and reach their full potential. We operate under the University’s Equality and Diversity Inclusion Policy.

We are against any kind of discrimination and harassment on any basis, including but not limited to gender, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation. For more information on what constitutes bullying or harassment, please see the University’s website.  If you need to report or talk with someone about issues relating to Equality and Diversity, please get in touch with either the School’s Equality and Diversity Chair, Dr Tugce Cuhadaroglu or the Head of School, Professor Alan Sutherland.

Athena SWAN Bronze application

The School of Economics and Finance has been recognised with an Athena SWAN Bronze Award for its work to promote gender equality and overcome barriers to career progression for all.

Athena SWAN logo

Athena SWAN started with the Athena Project and the Scientific Women’s Academic Network (SWAN) advancing representation of women in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) in Higher Education. It was expanded to include Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business and Law (AHSSBL) and now also covers professional / support staff and trans staff and students. Levels of the award are Bronze, Silver and Gold.

EDI Committee

The main task of the committee is to make the changes and implement the actions promised in the Action Plan of our Athena Swan application in addition to keeping track of the EDI agenda of the school. The committee will have two meetings per semester, while smaller working groups will be seeing to specific tasks. The committee consists of some permanent members and some volunteers.

The permanent roles are:

  • Professor Alan Sutherland (Head of School)
  • Dr Luca Savorelli (Director of Teaching)
  • Professor Roderick McCrorie (Director of Research)
  • Dr Tugce Cuhadaroglu (EDI Officer)
  • Dr Torsten Matzke (School Manager)

In addition to this, volunteers are:

  • Dr Erven Lauw
  • Dr Gosia Mitka
  • Michelle Moore
  • Dr Samuel Bonnyai
  • Dr Yulia Moiseeva