Skip navigation to content

Associate Staff

The following are valued associates of the School:


Professors Emeriti/ae

Prof. Richard Bauckham, New Testament Studies

Revd Prof. Ian Bradley, Spiritual and Cultural History

Revd Prof. David Brown FRA FRSE, Theology, Aesthetics and Culture

Prof. Daphne Hampson, Post-Christian Thought

Prof. William Shaw, Divinity


Honorary Professors

Prof. Stuart Hall, Professor Emeritus of Ecclesiastical History, King’s College, London

Prof. Joseph Houston, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy of Religion, University of Glasgow

Prof. Fergus Kerr, OP, Blackfriars, Edinburgh and Honorary Fellow, University of Edinburgh

Prof. Ann Loades, Professor Emerita of Divinity, Durham University

Prof. Bruce McCormack, Charles Hodge Professor of Systematic Theology, Princeton Theological Seminary

Prof. Oliver O'Donovan, Professor Emeritus Christian Ethics and Practical Theology, University of Edinburgh

Prof. Kristin de Troyer, Professor of Old Testament, University of Salzburg


Honorary Readers

Dr Scott Hafemann, formerly Reader in New Testament, University of St Andrews

Dr Robin Salters, formerly Senior Lecturer in Hebrew and Old Testament, University of St Andrews

Dr Joan O'Donovan, formerly School of Divinity, University of Edinburgh


Honorary Senior Lecturer

Dr David Reimer, Honorary Senior Lecturer in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament


Honorary Lecturers

Revd Dr Alasdair Coles, All Saints' Church, St Andrews

Mr Michael Partridge, formerly Department of Philosophy, University of Aberdeen








Contact details

St Mary's College
The School of Divinity
University of St Andrews
South Street
St Andrews
Fife KY16 9JU
Scotland, United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)1334 462850
Fax: +44 (0)1334 462852