Skip navigation to content

« Back to news items

Professor Russell Morris FRS wins The Cronstedt Award

Tuesday 01 August 2017

Russell Morris has been voted the 2017 recipient of the Cronstedt Award form zeolite chemistry. 


The award is presented only every three years at the triennial Federation of European Zeolite Associations (FEZA) which this summer was held in Sofia, Bulgaria. The award is named in honour of the Swedish mineralogist Axel F. Cronstedt (1722–1765), who was the first scientist to describe their distinctive properties and introduced the term “zeolite”. 

 Russell was recognised for his work in developing the assembly-disassembly-organisation-reassembly (ADOR) process for the synthesis of new zeolites. This is a very nice acknowledgement of his work and the efforts of his research group.