Skip navigation to content

Academic Staff Development Programme (ASDP)

The Academic Staff Development Programme (ASDP) is a series of focused, bite-sized workshops designed to equip, support and develop members of academic staff and research staff who teach.  Each workshop is offered once per semester / academic year, and draws upon the knowledge, experience and expertise of staff from a variety of schools and units across the University. ‌The ASDP is designed to complement the guidance and mentoring provided within Schools, where appropriate discipline-based support can best be given.

ASDP workshops

A wide range of workshops cover the areas of Teaching, Service and Research.  All workshops that are currently live and available for booking are hyperlinked directly to the University online booking system (PDMS). New workshops are added during the year, so please be sure to check back every so often. 

Core workshops

These workshops are essential for new staff and strongly advised for other academics.

 

Teaching

Assessment and feedback

Wed 10 October 2018 (1400-1630)

Wed 20 February 2019 (1400-1630)

 

Effective lecturing

Wed 26 September 2018 (1400-1630)

Wed 6 February 2019 (1400-1630)

 

Small group teaching

Wed 3 October 2018 (1430-1630)

Date TBC - semester 2 (1430-1630)

 

Module Design

Wed 10 October 2018 (1400-1630)

Date TBC - semester 2 (1400-1630)

 

Convening a module

Wed 28 November 2018 (1430-1615)

Wed 13 March 2019 (1430-1615)

 

Service

PGR Supervisor Training

Thurs 4 October 2018 (1230-1600)

 

Managing people in research teams

Wed 21 November 2018 (1400-1700)

Wed 24 April 2019 (1400-1700)

 

Time management: strategies for busy teachers and researchers

Wed 28 November 2018 (1400-1700)

Wed 17 April 2019 (1400-1700)

 

Recruitment and selection (academic and research staff

Thursday 14 February 2019 (0930-1300)

Friday 12 April 2019 (1330-1700)

 

Research

Managing Research Information: an introduction to impact, open access, Pure, data management

Mon 24 September 2018 (1030-1230)

 

Managing Research Information: Pure, hands-on training

Mon 22 October 2018 (1030-1130)

 

Managing Research Information: publishing research data

Mon 29 Oct 2018 (1430-1630)


Managing Research Information: impact in depth

Mon 12 Nov 2018 (1000-1200)

 

Please see the Passport to Research Futures - all workshops on this Passport are open to academic staff.

Supplementary workshops

These workshops are recommended for all academics.

 

Teaching

Teaching Practice Forum

Dates TBC (1230-1400) 

 

Social Media Round Table

Date TBC

 

Theories of Learning

Wed 19 September 2018 (1400-1600)

Wed 30 January 2019 (1400-1600)

 

Data visualization and infographics: an introduction Date TBC 

 

Voice Awareness for Professional Voice Users

Wed 7 November 2018 (1400-1630)

Wed 6 March 2019 (1400-1630)

 

Service

PhD viva examinations: best practice

Wed 14 November 2018 (1330-1630)

Wed 27 Feb 2019 (1330-1630)

 

Resilience in the face of change (Part 1 & 2)

Dates TBC— Part 1

Dates TBC— Part 2

 

Student Mental Health Toolkit for Academic Staff

Fri 19 October 2018 (0930-1530)

Mon 4 March 2019 (0930-1530) 

 

Mental Health Awareness Training (Heads of School)

Mon 24 September 2018 (1030-1530)

 

ARDS Reviewer Training

Fri 28 September 2018 (0930-1100)

Tues 20 November 2018 (1400-1530)

Fri 8 February 2019 (0930-1100)

Tues 23 April 2019 (1400-1530)

 

Academic Mentoring Networking event

Date TBC—semester 1 (1200-1400)

Date TBC—semester 2 (1200-1400)

 

Advanced Mentoring for Academics

Date TBC

 

Board of adjudication—how to contribute effectively

Date TBC

 

 

Research

Writing Retreat

Date TBC semester 1

Date TBC semester 2

 

Please see the Passport to Research Futures - all workshops on this Passport are open to academic staff.

Academic Review meetings - personal development

At each of your Academic Review meetings, your Head of School (HoS) will discuss your personal development with you.  During these meetings, you will have the opportunity to highlight and discuss the workshops you would like to participate in.   Once agreed with your HoS, please book your place on the workshop(s) using the University online booking system (PDMS): https://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/pdms.

Contribute your knowledge and experience through the ASDP

Imange of a man reaching to the camera with open hand.Passionate about being an academic? Would you welcome the opportunity to share your passion and expertise with others?

Most of our workshops are delivered 'in-house' by staff who have experience & knowledge in specific areas.  We welcome new ideas / topics that can help support and develop academics, and are always looking to increase our pool of facilitators to deliver workshops. If you are interested, please contact:  Dr Rikard Jalkebro (Academic Staff Developer): asd-capod@st-andrews.ac.uk.

CAPOD

Dr Rikard Jalkebro
Academic Staff Developer
CAPOD

Tel: (01334) 467179
Email: asd-capod@st-andrews.ac.uk

Additional support

Academic Staff Development Programme (AY2018-19) (PDF, 852 KB)

- ID5101/02 Modules
HEA-accredited (scroll to bottom of page)

- CAPOD
- CAPOD funding
- Mentoring schemes
- Academic review and development

New to the University?

- University staff induction
- Online induction resources