Current members of the Academic Council

The Academic Council is made up of members of the senior management team, deans, heads of Schools, senate assessors on Court, a number of elected non-professorial members of staff and four student members.

A list of all current members of Academic Council can be found below.

Principal (Convener)

Professor Sally Mapstone

Master of the United College & Deputy Principal

Professor Lorna Milne

The Proctor

Professor Paul Hibbert


The Dean of Arts and Divinity (Professor Frank Lorenz Müller)
The Dean of Medicine (Professor David Crossman)
The Dean of Science (Professor Tom Brown)

Heads of school

Art History (Professor Julian Luxford)
Biology (Professor Frank Gunn-Moore)
Chemistry (Professor Russell Morris)
Classics (Professor Jason König)
Computer Science (Professor Simon Dobson)
Divinity (Dr Stephen Holmes)
Earth and Environmental Sciences (Professor Tony Prave)
Economics and Finance (Professor Alan Sutherland)
English (Professor Jane Stabler)
English Language Teaching (Mr Eoin Jordan, director)
Geography and Sustainable Development (Professor Keith Bennett)
History (Professor Simon MacLean)
International Relations (Professor Anthony Lang)
Management (Professor John Ferguson)
Mathematics and Statistics (Professor Mark Chaplain)
Medicine (Professor David Crossman)
Modern Languages (Professor Sean Allan)
Philosophical, Anthropological and Film Studies (Professor Mark Harris)
Physics and Astronomy (Professor Graham Turnbull)
Psychology and Neuroscience (Professor Gareth Miles)

Senate assessors on University Court

Professor Frances Andrews (until 31 July 2019)
Professor Sharon Ashbrook (until 31 July 2020)
Dr Derek Ball (until July 2022)
Dr Morven Shearer (until 31 July 2021)

Student members

Ms Paloma Paige, President (Students' Association)
Mr Gianluca Giammei, Arts and Divinity Faculty President (Students’ Association)
Ms Alisa Danilenko, Science and Medicine Faculty President (Students’ Association)
Mr Ashley Clayton, Postgraduate Convenor (Students’ Association)

Direct electees


Dr Margaret Connolly (until 31 July 2022)
Dr Elise Hugueny-Léger (until 31 July 2020)
Professor Jordi Larios (until 31 July 2020)
Dr Sara Lodge (until 31 July 2022)

Life Sciences

Dr Gillian Brown (until 31 July 2022)

Physical Sciences

Professor Ineke De Moortel (until 31 July 2022)
Dr Graham Kirby (until 31 July 2022)
Dr James Rae (until 31 July 2022)

Social Sciences

Dr Jeffrey Murer (until 31 July 2022, serving a second term)
Dr Ozge Senay (until 31 July 2022).

In regular attendance

Professor Brad MacKay, Vice-Principal (International Strategy and External Relations)
Mr Alastair Merrill, Vice-Principal (Governance)
Dr Monique MacKenzie, Provost of St Leonard's College (Director of the Graduate School)
Mr John MacColl, University librarian
Ms Ester Ruskuc, Director of Strategy & Policy
Ms Margaret Sinclair, Executive Officer to Senate (Clerk)