Skip navigation to content

Welcome from the Principal and Vice-Chancellor

Dr Louise Richardson - Principal and Vice Chancellor

Welcome to the University of St Andrews. Whether you are a student, a staff member, a town resident, or a visitor I am delighted to invite you to explore this remarkable university. A community of scholars and students with a shared commitment to the power of education has gathered here for centuries to advance knowledge, to explore fundamental questions and above all to exchange ideas.

We have recently celebrated our 600th anniversary, and I feel enormously privileged to be leading this academic community into its seventh century of intellectual exploration. This is an exciting and important time, and as we draw inspiration from past achievements, we are also embracing new challenges and realising new opportunities.

Our continued success is dependent on the contributions of every member of this community.  Among the most powerful of the assets we have at St Andrews is a shared commitment to the pursuit of excellence in our teaching and our research, and a deeply-held belief in the transformative power of education. In today’s demanding economic environment, the role of universities in pushing at the frontiers of knowledge, educating the next generation, and equipping them with the mindset and ability necessary to navigate changing times, is central to our collective success.

Defined by our history, our location and our size, the University of St Andrews is an institution where tradition sits side by side with modern technology, and where our remote location serves only to energise our engagement with the key issues facing the world today. It is a place where the intellectual and personal potential of every member of our international community of students and academics is fostered and encouraged at every turn.

I invite you to discover more about our unique institution and the people who study and work here by exploring this site, or by visiting St Andrews in person.

Professor Louise Richardson FRSE

 

Principal's Office Hours

All 2.00pm - 4.00pm:

  • Tuesday 17 September 2013
  • Wednesday 2 October 2013
  • Thursday 14 November 2013
  • Tuesday 26 November 2013
  • Wednesday 22 January 2014
  • Wednesday 5 February 2014
  • Wednesday 19 February 2014
  • Tuesday 18 March 2014
  • Wednesday 2 April 2014
  • Friday 9 May 2014, 10am - 12noon
  • Friday 30 May 2014
  • Wednesday 18 June 2014
  • Wednesday 1 October 2014
  • Wednesday 22 October 2014
  • Monday 10 November 2014
  • Wednesday 27 November 2014, 3.00 - 5.00pm
  • Friday 12 December 2014

Please contact Sheona Ogilvie, Personal Assistant to the Principal. Telephone (01334 46)2544 to arrange an appointment.