Thomas Krauss

Thomas Krauss

Thomas F. Krauss obtained a Dipl.-Ing. in Photographic Engineering (FH Koeln, Germany) in 1989 based on a diploma thesis conducted at IBM, Yorktown Heights, USA. Following a PhD in the area of semiconductor ring lasers at the University of Glasgow (1992), he initiated the field of semiconductor photonic crystals in the UK. He gained SERC (1993) and Royal Society (1995) Research Fellowships in support of this work and has since established a reputation worldwide, as evidenced by the large number of invited talks he presents at international level (10-15 such presentations per year) He is grant holder of several SFC, EPSRC, EU and industrially sponsored research projects, coordinated EU-FP5 "PICCO" and leads the current EU-FP6 "SPLASH", both studying fundamental and applied aspects of photonic crystals.

He collaborates strongly in Europe, especially through the EU-FP6 "epixnet" network and overseas, with the Australian CUDOS consortium. His 15-strong group operate the nanofabrication facility at St. Andrews, including electron beam and photolithography, wet and dry etching, thin film deposition as well as a characterisation suite for active and passive microphotonic devices. Prof Krauss was elected a Fellow of the IoP (2001) and the Royal Society of Edinburgh (2002).


Contact Details:

Thomas F Krauss, FRSE
Professor of Optoelectronics
Head of School
School of Physics and Astronomy
University of St Andrews
St Andrews
KY16 9SS
Tel. +44 (0)1334 463107
Fax +44 (0)1334 463104

E-mail: tfk(at)




Other Members of the Group


Group Leader

Thomas Krauss



Post-Grad Students

Research Technicians

Andrea Di Falco

William Whelan-Curtin (Liam O'Faolain)



Christopher Reardon

Marcello Ferrera

Abdul Shakoor

Annett Klemm

Bryan O'Regan

Christian Schuster

Emiliano Rezende Martins

Kapil Debnath

Mark Scullion

Peter Reader-Harris

Steve Balfour

Callum Smith


Project Students


Former Group Members


George Robb

Armando Ricciardi

Arran Gillies

Christian Reimer

Daryl Beggs

Dominik Szymanski

Douglas McRobbie

Fengqiao Dong

Isabella Rey

Juntao Li

Khaled Mnaymneh

Karl Welna

Maria Dienerowitz

Marco Grande

Maria Kotlyar

Martin Ploschner

Marcel Spurny

M. Umar Khan

Paolo Cardile

Pedro Damas

Praveen Ashok

Rob Marchington

Sebastian Schulz

Simone Portalupi

Stephen Moore

Tim James

Tom White

Yikun Liu